1976 Moved to Steamboat Springs during the 100-year drought ski season




BA Summa Cum Laude (1975) Sociology and PhD (1979), Sociology, emphasis in quantitative analysis of social policy, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities


Volunteer Community work


1984-1987 President of the Board, Crossroads Safe house for Battered Women and their Children, Ft. Collins


1988-1990 Volunteer social science consultant for family ranchers in Pleasant Valley, focusing on economic, transportation, and social impacts of proposed development


1993-1994 Vision 2020 (Joint Routt County-Steamboat Springs)


1996-2006 Routt County Planning Commissioner (RCPC) focusing on the connection between land use, water efficiency/conservation, energy, and multimodal transportation. From 1997-2006 she was Vice-Chair of RCPC


2007-2012 NW Transportation Planning Region Commission (5 counties - NWTPR) member, 2009-2012, Chair NWTPR


2007-2012 NWTPR, Rep to Statewide Transportation Advisory Committee (STAC)


2007-2011 Rocky Mountain Rail Authority (RMRA) Board of Directors and Steering Committee for CDOT/FRA funded Feasibility Study high speed rail, I-25 and I-70 mountain corridor.


2007-2012 Club 20, Board Member, Transportation and Tourism Committees


2010-2012 Club20 Executive Committee


2008-2011 Chair of the Steamboat Springs Chamber Resort Association Transportation Solutions Group Ped/Bike Working Group


2009-2012 Member of the Steamboat Springs Community Cycling Initiative (aka cycling as Economic Development Task Force, later “Bike Town, USA”)


2010-2011 Chair/Grant Manager for CDOT Safe Routes to School Non-Infrastructure Grant for School Bike/Walk Rallies, Kid Friendly Map, and computer kiosk/program that helps kids track their contribution to Clean Air and Reduction of Congestion


2010-2011 Member, Governor John Hickenlooper's Transition Team for Transportation


2006-2012 Yampa Valley Sustainability Council


2007-2012 Routt County Representative on Mainstreet, Steamboat Springs (downtown business association)


Professional and Business


1977-1978 proprietor of commercial and residential cleaning business, Steamboat Springs


Diane served on the social science faculty at University of Arizona, Colorado State University, and Colorado Mountain College, Steamboat Springs.


1982 to 1993, Diane commuted from Steamboat Springs to Fort Collins to teach and do research at CSU, earning tenure by a unanimous Sociology Department vote in 1984. She published widely in peer reviewed social science journals.


1993-2005 Diane was fulltime faculty at CMC, Steamboat Springs, where she was twice named CMC faculty of the year


Elected Office


In 2006 she was elected as Routt County Commissioner, District 3, reelected in 2010.


2013-2016 As State Representative for Colorado House District 26-Eagle County and Routt County, Diane has served on:


  • House Transportation and Energy Committee, Chair
  • House Agriculture, Livestock, and Natural Resources, Vice-Chair
  • Interim Joint House & Senate Water Resources Review Committee
  • Interim Joint House & Senate Transportation Legislation Review Committee, Chair
  • House Health, Insurance, and Environment Committee (2015 session)


Over 75% of her evidence based, bipartisan bills have been signed into law, even with split chambers.


Read more in Goals and Accomplishments



Paid for by Diane for Colorado CD3

 P.O. Box 771606, Steamboat Springs, 80477

118 West 3rd St. Pueblo, CO 81003